Tuesday, May 11, 2010

Smith, Delaney preserve eligibility

As expected, N.C. State and Virginia Tech were among the most fortunate teams Tuesday afternoon when the NBA released the list of early entry candidates who have withdrawn from the draft in time to preserve their college eligibility.

N.C. State center Tracy Smith and Virginia Tech guard Malcolm Delaney, who will be seniors next season and who had earlier declared their intentions to return to school, were the only ACC players on the NBA's list of players who have withdrawn from the draft.

The biggest winner of all, though, was Purdue. Boilermakers guard E'twaun Moore and center JaJuan Johnson both have decided to return to school, and their experience will make Purdue one of the preseason favorites to reach the Final Four.

Butler, the 2010 NCAA runner-up, remains a likely top-10 team in the preseason but will face tempered expectations because its leading scorer, Gordon Hayward, stayed in the draft.

And former Concord High standout Dee Bost is staying in the draft after two seasons at Mississippi State.

The deadline to withdraw from the draft and remain eligible to play in college was Saturday. The draft will be held June 24.

Other notables who've withdrawn from the draft include Jimmer Fredette of Brigham Young, Alex Tyus of Florida, Demetri McCamey of Illinois and three Seton Hall players - Herb Pope, Jeremy Hazell and Jeff Robinson.

Ken Tysiac


Edward Hanes said...

wow..cool..this kids will be playing NBA soon